For you – any pace, any distance, any terrain

september, 2023

2023sat02sep1:30 pm4:00 pmThomas Cup: 3.85 mile Handicap1:30 pm - 4:00 pm Richmond ParkGender:Men,Open,WomenAge:OpenTerrain:Cross countryDistance:c.6k / c.3.8 miles CLICK HERE FOR QUICK ENTRY >


(Saturday) 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm


Richmond Park

How to Enter

Entry is free but you must register in advance in order to allow the handicapper time to do his job. Please note your 5k time (actual/estimated) shall be requested at registration.

Register here:

Registration shall close at 11pm on Wednesday 30th August.


c.6k / c.3.8 miles

Event Details

This is the first xc handicap race of our 142nd season.

This event is open to all club members. Handicaps will be awarded by the club handicapper – all entrants must sign up via the Eventbrite link beforehand.

  • Number collection at the clubhouse from 12.30pm.
  • Annual club photo at 1pm.
  • Race to start at 1.30pm.

Race starts and finishes opposite Pembroke Lodge. Please see course map.

More details

HOW DOES A Handicap WORK? Rather than start everyone at the same time, a Handicap race sees each runner awarded an individual start time by the Handicapper based on their recent race performances. The runner with the most generous Handicap will set off first, with each subsequent runner starting at their allotted time. If the Handicapper has done their job, all runners should in theory end up finishing the race at roughly the same time. To ensure this is the case members must have run a minimum number of club events in order to be awarded a Handicap (and failing this they will compete as a guest). The first runner across the finishing line wins the Handicap.



Prizes shall be awarded to the first three finishers, the three fastest men and the three fastest women. The winner will receive the Thomas Cup:

This ornate trophy was originally won by one of the club’s greatest runners Sid Thomas in a head to head 10 miles race against his arch rival Will Parry of Salford Harriers held at Old Trafford Manchester on 23rd May 1889. Sid was a convincing winner in 54:55.