For you – any pace, any distance, any terrain

april, 2024

2024sat13apr2:30 pm5:00 pmClutton Cup Handicap2:30 pm - 5:00 pm Richmond ParkGender:OpenAge:OpenTerrain:Cross countryDistance:c.16k / c.10 miles CLICK HERE FOR QUICK ENTRY >


(Saturday) 2:30 pm - 5:00 pm


Richmond Park

How to Enter

  • Entry is free but all runners MUST register in advance in order to allow the handicapper time to do his job.
  • Please register here:
  • The closing date for registration is 11.30pm on Wednesday 10th April 2024.
  • You will be asked for your average 5km time


c.16k / c.10 miles

Event Details

  • First competed for in 1883, the Clutton Cup is a 16km/10mile handicap cross-country race open to all members.
  • Numbers will be available from 1.45pm at start/finish at Sidmouth Woods
  • The race will start at 2.30pm.
  • Tea, results & prize giving will take place after at the clubhouse.

More details

How does a handicap event work?

In a handicap race, rather than having a mass start for all competitors, each runner is awarded an individual start time by the club handicapper. This start time is caculated based on your average 5k time, and takes into account recent race performances. The runner with the most generous handicap will be set off first, after which each runner will start at their allotted time. If the handicapping is done accurately, all competitors should in theory end up finishing the race at roughly the same time. The first runner across the finish line wins the handicap trophy/prize.

Anyone can run in a handicap race, but to ensure fairness, prizes will only be awarded to members who have run at least 3 Ranelagh club events (eg: mob match, other handicaps races, Ranelagh 10k and Ranelagh half marathon) prior to this event. If they haven’t completed 3 events, they will compete as a guest and not be eligible for a prize.


2 laps of the course below (click for larger image):



Please see 2022 results 


  • The first finisher (non-guest) will be awarded the Clutton Cup (
  • This Cup was presented it 1882 by JH Clutton, the club’s first true president.
  • Medals will also be awarded to the 2nd & 3rd place finishers, as well as the three fastest men and the three fastest women.