For you – any pace, any distance, any terrain

april, 2023

2023sat01apr3:00 pm5:00 pmBaker Cup Handicap3:00 pm - 5:00 pm Richmond Park, Ballet SchoolGender:OpenAge:OpenTerrain:RoadDistance:c.5k / c.3m Format:Handicap


(Saturday) 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm


Richmond Park, Ballet School

How to Enter

  • Entry is free but all runners MUST register in advance in order to allow the handicapper time to do his job.
  • Please register here:
  • The closing date for registration is 11.30pm on Tuesday 28th March 2023.
  • You will be asked for your average 5km time


c.5k / c.3m

Event Details

  • First run in 1911, the Baker Cup is a 5km/3mile handicap road race open to all members.
  • Numbers will be available from 2pm at start/finish by the side of the Ballet School (by Pen Ponds)
  • The race will start at 3pm.
  • Tea, results & prize giving will take place after at the clubhouse.

More details

How does a handicap event work?

In a handicap race, rather than having a mass start for all competitors, each runner is awarded an individual start time by the club handicapper. This start time is caculated based on your average 5k time, and takes into account recent race performances. The runner with the most generous handicap will be set off first, after which each runner will start at their allotted time. If the handicapping is done accurately, all competitors should in theory end up finishing the race at roughly the same time. The first runner across the finish line wins the handicap trophy/prize.

Anyone can run in a handicap race, but to ensure fairness, prizes will only be awarded to members who have run at least 3 Ranelagh club events (eg: mob match, other handicaps races, Ranelagh 10k and Ranelagh half marathon) prior to this event. If they haven’t completed 3 events, they will compete as a guest and not be eligible for a prize.



The course is 2 laps of the pictured route, a distance of approx. 5km or 3miles. Starting & finishing by the side of the Ballet School, it is run entirely on road.




  • The first finisher (non-guest) will be awarded the Baker Cup (
  • This Cup was presented it 1910 by one of the club’s longest-serving members, Fred W Baker.
  • At the time of his passing in 1959, he had been a Ranelagh member for 76 years.
  • Medals will also be awarded to the 2nd & 3rd place finishers, as well as the three fastest men and the three fastest women.